ESOMAR Excellence Award

This prestigious award (formerly known as ESOMAR Excellence Award for Standards of Performance in Market Research - The John Downham Award) recognises outstanding achievement and excellence in contributing to the market research industry at an international level.

Nominations can include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Encouragement and/or broadening the application of professional standards;
  • Innovative or rigorous methodological approaches;
  • Adding credibility to the profession.

The award carries a prize of EUR 10,000 and is sponsored by ESOMAR.

2015 finalists

Ray Poynter Pravin Shekar Adam Phillips SSI

Ray Poynter

Pravin Shekar

Adam Phillips


Winner 2015

And the winner is...

Adam Phillips

Adam Phillips

See the jury of 2015 Click to view/hide content

ESOMAR Excellence Best Paper Award 2015 Jury

We would like to thank the jury!

  • George Papachen, Kantar, USA
  • Laurent Flores, ESOMAR President
  • Raimund Wildner, GfK, Germany

Who is eligible?

Eligibility for the award is open to anyone in the market research industry including individuals and organisations, clients and providers of research, members and non-members of ESOMAR. However, only the ESOMAR Secretariat and ESOMAR Members may nominate.

Please note: current ESOMAR council members are not eligible for the award.

Who can nominate?

The ESOMAR Secretariat and ESOMAR Members may nominate candidates by completing the online entry form available through the link below.

How to submit a nomination?

Submitting a nomination can be easily done through the online nomination form. Nominations will be judged on the basis of a written submission of no more than 750 words.

The submission must clearly articulate how the person’s initiative(s) or achievement(s) created a successful outcome and positive impact on the profession internationally.

How will the winner be selected?

Submissions will be considered by a committee selected by ESOMAR and chaired by the President or Vice President of ESOMAR. If no finalists are judged to meet the requisite standards, the jury shall be free to award no prize at all.

Read everything about our previous finalists