ESOMAR Best Qualitative Paper – Peter Cooper Award
Sponsored by QRi Consulting

2016 winner(s)

Look Who's Talking?!
Exploring the impact Twitter has had on language and culture
Cecily Long, Flamingo, UK
Sara Picazo, Twitter, UK

Peter Cooper (1936-2010), Chartered Psychologist and founder of CRAM International, was one of the principal pioneers of international Qualitative research. He strongly believed that excellence in Qualitative research provided clients with a competitive advantage and his quest to get inside the consumer mind resulted in innovative methods, techniques and analysis.

QRi Consulting, which evolved out of CRAM International following Peter’s passing, continues to practice and support his philosophy and principles.

In recognition of Peter’s contribution to the qualitative research industry, ESOMAR and QRi will be honouring the Qualitative Research Conference Excellence Best Paper Award nominee with a EUR 1500 prize.

As a fitting tribute to Peter, QRi Consulting is delighted to be sponsoring the new ESOMAR Best Qualitative Paper - Peter Cooper Award, formerly known as ESOMAR Qualitative Excellence - Peter Cooper Award.


To be eligible for the ESOMAR Best Qualitative Paper - Peter Cooper Award, all papers must:

  • Be presented at the ESOMAR (Global) Qualitative conference,
  • Be entirely original and not have not been previously published in any form (the authors will be required to sign a declaration to this effect).
  • Be supported by a full and relevant bibliography. Papers presented by speakers at the invitation of ESOMAR will not be eligible for the Award.


All copyrights to the paper will be signed over to ESOMAR, who will ensure that the paper obtains the maximum exposure that we can offer. The author(s) will be given full acknowledgement by name in every case of re-publication.

Selection procedure

The Programme Committee members for the Qualitative conference will select the best paper from that event, which will also be awarded the ESOMAR Best Qualitative Paper - Peter Cooper Award. The authors of the paper will receive the associated prize money and the paper will go forward for the Excellence Best Paper award given at the ESOMAR Congress for the best paper for that year.

Our previous winners

Qualitative Excellence – Peter Cooper Award - winner 2015

The Future Fan
Exploring the evolution of music fandom and what it means to brands and the media
Andy Crysell, Crowd DNA, UK
Gemma Proctor, Twitter, UK

Qualitative Excellence – Peter Cooper Award - winner 2014

(Con-)figure it Out
Dorothee Stadler, HYVE, Germany
Gabriele Stahl, Procter & Gamble, Germany
Volker Bilgram, HYVE, Germany

Qualitative Excellence – Peter Cooper Award - winner 2013

The Power of the Dark Side
Motivation, positioning and the seven deadly sins
Shobha Prasad, Drshti Strategic Research Services, India

The jury said:

"Extremely well written, rich and narrating a compelling story about the "true power" of Qual and its ability in my view to stay "unique and relevant" in front of all the challenges it has to face."

Qualitative Excellence – Peter Cooper Award - winner 2012

Reality Check
Establishing the potential of new ideas in real world context
Jessica Salmon, BT, UK
Robert Cook, Firefish, UK

Diane Chayer, of the Qualitative Programme Committee, noted

"On a rational level, this paper could have won because the case study shows well designed multi-country market research, using different methodologies that left no stone unturned, and which was conducted in a time period that helps simulate reality. But real reality is that the biggest success of this paper is its ability to inspire us all."