Research Effectiveness Award

Research Effectiveness Award

The ESOMAR Research Effectiveness Award showcases the very best in demonstrating how market or social research has had substantial commercial and or societal impact. No matter how good a piece of research is, only if it produces not only insights but real actionable results with a clear benefit to either business or society can it be considered successful. The Research Effectiveness Award asks commercial and non-commercial entities to do just that, showcase their impact!

This is a prestigious global award given once a year and it is open for client side research users() (or users and their agencies) in any market or field who are interested in sharing their story about the commercial or societal impact of their research investment (ROI). We welcome submissions from all around the world and want to hear your story.

How to enter

Your entry should be a written case study that details an innovative piece of research that showcases clearly how the project contributed to business or societal success or change (maximum 2500 words). Entry text should be uploaded online and the submission should be very thorough, including not only methodology, but also the tangible results that are directly linked to the research.

Entry Criteria

Joint entries are also accepted (research user and agency together), however, agency-only submissions are not.

The project you submit cannot be presented at the ESOMAR Congress in the same year that it is being submitted for the award.

Judging Criteria

The judges are looking to reward the submissions that most persuasively and thoroughly establish the link between research and performance.

  • Scale of task: How difficult is the challenge to undertake?
  • Strength of solution: How imaginative or impressive is the strategic, business, social or media solution?
  • Strength of proof: How convincingly and credibly does the submission establish the link between research and commercial or social performance? How is this measured?
  • New learning: Has the case taught us anything new about how research works or about how to use research?
  • Scale of effect (this should include concrete KPIs): How impressive is the return on investment either monetary or societal? Does it demonstrate how effective the research was in contributing to the success of business or a social issue?
  • Supporting Material: Additional documentation is not required for an entry. However, entrants are encouraged to upload creative material, charts, videos, or any other presentations in support of their written piece. These can help bring the project to life for the judges. Material can be uploaded as part of the submission process.

Selection procedure

The submissions will be reviewed by an international jury of specialists, who will select a shortlist of finalists to present their submissions at the ESOMAR Annual Congress. Finalists will be ranked as Bronze or Silver with the winner receiving a Gold rank. The jury is chaired by the President or Vice President of ESOMAR.


The Bronze and Silver ranked finalists will receive a trophy, and the Gold ranked submission will receive a trophy and a EUR 4000 prize.

The ranking of the finalists will be announced during the Awards Ceremony at the Congress.

If no finalists are judged to meet the necessary standard of the award, the jury shall be free to award no prize at all.

The award winner, together with the finalists, will be widely publicised by ESOMAR on our website, in our magazine Research World, through the ESOMAR social media channels and to international press.

All of the finalist's submissions will be published.


The award will be made on the basis of a written submission in line with the judging criteria.

Submit a project

Deadline: 2 June 2017