• Home
  • Search
  • FAQs
  • RW Connect
  • Shopping cart
  • Sharing options
  • ESOMAR Directory
  • Search

ESOMAR Excellence Award


This prestigious award recognises outstanding achievement and excellence in contributing to the market research industry at an international level.

Nominations can include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Encouragement and/or broadening the application of professional standards
  • Innovative or rigorous methodological approaches
  • Adding credibility to the profession

The award carries a prize of EUR 10,000 and is sponsored by ESOMAR.

Deadline for submissions: 1 June 2018
Winner announced: 26 September 2018, at the ESOMAR Congress

Winner 2018

Phyllis McFarlane

Phyllis McFarlane
United Kingdom


Eligibility for the award is open to anyone in the market research industry including individuals and organisations, clients and providers of research, members and non-members of ESOMAR... etc. However, only the ESOMAR Secretariat and ESOMAR Members may nominate.

Please note: Current ESOMAR Council Members are not eligible for this award.


The ESOMAR Secretariat and ESOMAR Members may nominate candidates by completing the online entry form available through the link below.

Submitting a nomination can be easily done through the online nomination form. Nominations will be judged on the basis of a written submission of no more than 750 words.

The submission must clearly articulate how the person's initiative(s) or achievement(s) created a successful outcome and positive impact on the profession internationally. Please be aware that you cannot nominate yourself.

Submission for nominations has been closed.

The deadline has passed. It's not possible to submit nominations anymore.

Past winners


Adam Phillips

Adam Phillips

The jury said:

"An incredibly successful career. Fascinating work done in combining quantitative and qualitative work as well as lecturing at business schools and universities. Well deserved."


Georges Guelfand

Georges Guelfand
Managing Partner
H,T,P Concept Happy Thinkng People


John Smurthwaite

John Smurthwaite
Chairman, Asia Pacific, Latin America , Middle East & Africa, TNS, Regional Headquarters, Malaysia

The jury said:

"Too often busy schedules of senior MR professionals prevent them from dedicating time to educate others. John’s work in Asia has been well documented. John has helped ensure that MR has a significant respected and appropriate presence in one of the leading regions of the 21st century."


Kim Dedeker

Kim Dedeker

The jury said:

"For showing Leadership, pro-activeness and passion in driving “Online Quality” putting this at the forefront of the agenda for clients and suppliers."


David Smith

David Smith
Director, DVL Smith Group, UK
‘Defined the area of Market Intelligence’
Doctorate of Organisational Psychology,
University of London


Mario van Hamersveld

Mario van Hamersveld
Director, van Hamersveld MC, Netherlands
‘Overall contribution to house of quality by enthusiastic and consistent fostering and guidance to standards promotion'